News & Articles

Merger of Federal Circuit Court & Family Court

A change is coming to the Family Law and the Federal Circuit Courts of Australia. This new change will begin to have effect as of 1st September 2021.

The Family Court of Australia and the Federal Circuit Court of Australia are going to combine to become the Federal Circuit Family Court of Australia (FCFCA). This means that the two courts will not operate as two separate entities, but will be amalgamated into one court.

This new court will be made up of two divisions:

  • Division 1 – This Division will only deal with complex family law matters and appeals. This Division will mirror those complex family law matters that were heard by the Family Court of Australia. This Division will have 35 specialist judges.
  • Division 2 – This Division will hear all other family law matters except for appeals, and other general federal law matters (such as immigration, intellectual property, employment and others), that fell within the jurisdiction of the Federal Circuit Court. This Division will have 43 judges.
  • The Chief Justice can direct complex matters to be sent to Division 1.

The Court, including the two Divisions, will have one Chief Justice, one Deputy Chief Justice, and Senior Judges.

The purpose of this new Court is to ensure that the safety of children is paramount. It seeks to look after families suffering from domestic violence.

There will be many changes to court operations from 1 September, including changes to rules, forms, case management processes, appeals management and resources. There will also be a new website for the court.

For how these changes may impact on you, please do not hesitate to contact one of Georgiadis Lawyers’ family solicitors on 8210 5400.

Today's blog article has been written by

Today's blog article has been written by

Susan Subramaniam

Senior Associate
Translate »